South Bay Cities Council of Governments

June 22, 2017

TO: SBCCOG Board of Directors

FROM: Nominating Committee, Jim Osborne, Chair

RE: Nominating Committee Recommendation for 2017-2018 SBCCOG Officers

Adherence to the Strategic Plan

Goal D: Organizational Stability. Be a high performing organization with a clear path to long-term financial health, staffing continuity and sustained board commitment.

The Nominating Committee, whose members are Jim Osborne, Jim Gazeley, Dan Medina and Ralph Franklin, presents the following slate of officers for the 2017-2018 fiscal year starting July 1, 2017 and ending June 30, 2018:

Chairman Kurt Weideman

Council Member, Torrance

1st Vice Chair Britt Huff

Council Member, Rolling Hills Estates

2nd Vice Chair Christian Horvath

Council Member, Redondo Beach

The Board previously approved nominating 4 additional at large members to the Steering Committee in order to more deeply engage city council members in the work of the SBCCOG and to better prepare members to serve as future SBCCOG officers.

Recommended at large nominees to the Steering Committee are:

Suzanne Fuentes, Mayor, El Segundo Olivia Valentine, Council Member, Hawthorne Hany Fangary, Council Member, Hermosa Beach David Lesser, Mayor, Manhattan Beach

All candidates have agreed to serve if elected.

RECOMMENDATION:

Accept nominations for all offices from the floor, close nominations and proceed to the election of officers.